Outcry over proposed horse license in NH (US)

Horses may need to get a license if they want to live freely in the state of New Hampshire.  No, not that kind of license.
Horses may need to get a license if they want to live freely in the state of New Hampshire. No, not that kind of license.

HORSES NEED A LICENSE TOO (NH)

DOVER — A large contingent of horse owners are expected in Concord today to oppose a new bill that would require horses to be licensed in New Hampshire much like dogs.

N.H. Farm Bureau Equine Committee Chair Julie Porter, a Dover resident, is among those who say they hope to buck HB 427 before it reaches a vote in the full Legislature.

“They are trying to treat horses like dogs and they’re not. By law they are livestock and they aren’t kept in homes,” Porter said.

The proposed law would require owner to pay $25 to license any horse over four months old with the administration of the law being handled by local city and town clerks offices.

The proposal states the license shall be effective from May 1 of each year to April 30 of the subsequent year and will also require horse owners “furnish” a verification from a licensed veterinarian that the equine has been vaccinated against rabies.

The bill calls for the $25 licensing fee to be split up as follows: $10 to be retained by the municipality for animal control costs, $10 to be deposited in the general fund and $5 to be deposited in the state veterinarian’s fund.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s