Budweiser Clydesdale, Jim Damico and Annalician Herrera. Image by Colin Diltz.

Blind girl lifted up to ‘see’ Budweiser Clydesdale horses

Budweiser Clydesdale, Jim Damico and Annalician Herrera. Image by Colin Diltz.

PHOTO CREDIT: COLIN DILTZ / THE SEATTLE TIMES

After hearing that Annalicia Herrera, right, couldn’t see the horses because she was blind, Jim Damico, left, lifted Herrera up to touch the Budweiser Clydesdale horses and feel how tall they are at the Smokey Point Walmart parking lot Sunday. Herrera said she was impressed with how big the horses were.

The eight horses are one of many teams touring the country as part of a November military tour and will visit Joint Base Lewis-McChord Nov. 28 through Nov. 30. They can also be visited at the Puyallup Fairgrounds during that time. Damico is one of the horse handlers. For more info, visit the online schedule.

Cross-posted from The Seattle Times

See more photos >>

3 thoughts on “Blind girl lifted up to ‘see’ Budweiser Clydesdale horses”

  1. One of my very best memories ever! They brought them to Vally River Center in Eugene Oregon when I was a child. I’m 51 now and still remember it with such awe and longing. Some kids are born to think about horses, draw horses, sculpt horses and ride. I had to wait until I was 14 before I finally had my 16 hand grey Thoughbred/Quarter cross. The day I touched a Clydesdale was the day my fate was sealed; That God could make such beautiful giants that let me touch them and nickered at me? Words cannot describe the rush I felt when it greeted ME!

    Like

Comments are closed.